Share This
Biomedical Engineering

Affiliated Faculty

The NYCBE has an internationally recognized faculty of more than 30 researchers in the areas of arterial fluid mechanics and transport, cartilage and ligament mechanics, tissue-biomaterial interaction, bioheat transfer, microvascular exchange, bone adaptation, renal modeling, neural engineering, drug delivery, laser applications in biomedicine, quantitative image analysis for diagnostic pathology, biomedical signal processing and instrumentation, and pattern recognition and vision.

The outstanding quality and diversity of the faculty are reflected in their society affiliations, membership on select panels of the National Institutes of Health, National Research Council, NASA, and editorships and associate editorships of major journals. The faculty have won many of the most prestigious awards and honors in fields related to biomedical engineering, including election to the National Academy of Science, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine.

Affiliated Faculty

  • Gwendalyn J. Randolph, PhD
    Associate Professor, Dept. of Gene and Cell Medicine
    Mt. Sinai School of Medicine
    Website
    Phone: 212-659-8262
    Fax: 212-803-6740

  • George Plopper
    Assistant Professor
    RPI
    Cell migration (tumor and stem cells)
    Email: ploppg@rpi.edu
    Phone: 518-276-8288

  • Bulent Yener
    Associate Professor
    RPI
    Graph theory
    Email: yener@cs.rpi.edu
    Phone: 518-276-6907

  • Badri Roysam
    Professor
    RPI
    Image processing and analysis
    Email: roysam@ecse.rpi.edu
    Phone: 518-276-8067

  • Filippo Giacotti
    Professor
    MSKCC
    Cell and molecular biology in cancer
    Email: f-giancotti@ski.mskcc.org
    Phone: 212-639-6998

  • Paul S. Frenette, M.D.
    Irene and Dr. Arthur Fishberg Associate Professor
    Department of Medicine, Immunobiology Center and Black Family Stem Cell Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
    Website
    Phone: 212-659-9693
    Fax: 212-849-2657

  • Tong Wang, M.D..
    Research Associate Professor
    Yale School of Medicine
    Renal Transport
    Email: tong.wang@yale.edu

  • Stephane Carlier, M.D., Ph.D.
    Professor, Intravascular Imaging & Physiology
    Cardiovascular Research Foundation
    Vascular Ultrasound and Imaging Physiology
    Email: scarlier@crf.org

  • Herb B. Sun PhD
    Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics
    Mount Sinai School of Medicine
    Effects of mechanical stimuli on osteoarthritic joints;
    Email: herb.sun@mssm.edu

  • Peter A. Torzilli
    Senior Scientist
    The Hospital for Special Surgery
    Soft tissue biomechanics, cellular/molecular bioengineering.
    Email: TorzilliP@hss.edu

  • Carol A. Steiner
    Professor, Chemical Engineering
    CCNY
    Hydrogel technology, controlled drug release.
    Email: steiner@chs2s0.engr.ccny.cuny.edu

  • David Spray
    Professor, Neuroscience
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine
    Biophysics of gap junctions.
    Email: spray@aecom.yu.edu

  • Lawrence Sirovich
    Professor, Biomathematical Sciences
    Mount Sinai School of Medicine
    Mathematical methods applied to analysis and description of biological phenomena.
    Email: chico@camelot.mssm.edu

  • Lisa Satlin
    Chief, Division of Pediatric Nephrology, Mount Sinai Medical Center Professor, Pediatric Nephrology, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
    Ontogeny and mechanoregulation of epithelial cell function in kidney.
    Email: Lisa.Satlin@mssm.edu

  • Ali Sadegh
    Professor, Mechanical Engineering
    CCNY
    Computational biomechanics, bone remodeling.
    Email: sadegh@med2s0.engr.ccny.cuny.edu

  • David S. Rumschitzki
    Professor, Chemical Engineering
    CCNY
    Transport and reaction aspects of arterial diseases.
    Email: david@chs2s0.engr.ccny.cuny.edu

  • Alan Weinstein
    Professor, Physiology & Medicine
    Weill Medical College of Cornell University
    Fluid transport and renal physiology.
    Email: alan@nephron.med.cornell.edu

  • Timothy M. Wright
    Director, Department of Biomechanics & Biomaterials, The Hospital for Special Surgery, Professor, Applied Biomechanics, Weill Medical College of Cornell University
    Design and performance of bone-implant systems, mechanics and mechanobiology of bone tissue.
    Email: WrightT@HSS.EDU

  • Karl J. Jepsen
    Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics
    Mount Sinai School of Medicine
    Biomechanical and ultrastructural basis of skeletal fragility.
    Email: karl.jepsen@mssm.edu

  • Kung-Ming Jan
    Associate Professor, Clinical Medicine
    Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons
    Lipoprotein transport across arterial endothelium.
    Email: kj3@columbia.edu

  • Vern Houston
    Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine
    NYU
    Applications in prosthetics, orthotics, and pedorthics.
    Email: vlh3@nyu.edu

  • Marilyn Gunner
    Associate Professor, Physics
    CCNY
    Protein electrostatic calculations; electron transfer studies.
    Email: gunner@scisun.sci.ccny.cuny.edu

  • Jay Edelman
    Assistant Professor, Biology
    CCNY
    Human motor systems and their relation to vision, cognition, and memory.
    Email: jedelman@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

  • Stephen B. Doty
    Senior Scientist
    The Hospital for Special Surgery
    Morphology and histology of bone.
    Email: dotys@hss.edu

  • Edward J. Ciaccio
    Associate Research Scientist, Pharmacology
    Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons
    Bioinstrumentation, biomedical signal and image processing.
    Email: ciaccio@columbia.edu

  • Nancy Pleshko Camacho
    Associate Scientist
    The Hospital for Special Surgery
    Characterization of mineral and matrix in calcified tissues.
    Email: camachon@hss.edu

  • Candido Cabo
    Assistant Professor, Computer Systems Technology
    New York City College of Technology
    Cardiac electrophysiology; study of the mechanisms of cardiac arrhythmias.
    Email: ccabo@NYCTC.CUNY.EDU

  • Rochelle Buffenstein
    Professor, Biology
    CCNY
    Nutrition and energetics.
    Email: rbuffen@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

  • George Brandon
    Associate Medical Professor
    CUNY Medical School
    Medical anthropology and alternative medicine.
    Email: ogun@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

  • Adele Boskey
    Professor, Biochemistry
    Weill Medical College of Cornell University
    Mineralization processes in bone and cartilage.
    Email: boskeya@hss.edu

  • Savio Woo
    Professor and Director
    MSSM
    Gene and Cell medicine
    Email: savio.woo@mssm.edu
    Phone: 212-659-8260