

Proposed: October 17, 2013 Adopted: October 17, 2013

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Plenary Sept 19, 2013 Shepard Hall 250 The City College

Present: Provost Trevisan, Executive Counsel Occhiogrosso; Senior Registrar D. Matos; Deans: G. Barabino, D. Cintron, E. Driscoll, J. Mercado, G. Ranalli, E. Weitz; Senators: A. Agrawal, R. Alfano, L. Bank, M. Bengoa-Calvo, A. Benedicty, M. Binz-Scharf, K. Block, P. Brass, H. Carter, MT Chang, W. Crain, B. Cronin, C. Dalglish, D. DiSalvo, K. Foster, J. Fraga, E. Friedman, B. Fu, J. Gallagher, A. Gilerson, D. Greenberger, M. Gunner, M. Gutman, E. Handy, D. Hu, K. Hubbard, M. Juarez, B. Judell, R. Kalia, B. Kim, C. Lascar, R. Laurich, J. Lee, C. Maldarelli, D. McLurkin, R. Miller, F. Moshary, J. Moore, S. Pittson, A. Ratner, R. Raj, S. Reshadi, S. Rings, C. Riobo, S. Rosenbaum, B. Santoro, N. Sohler, J. Tarbell, D. Troeger, J. Valle, C. Watkins, T. Watson, J. Wilner, A. Estevez, G. Tardos, R. Calichman, D. Jeruzalmi

Guests: A. Alting, L. Galman, C. Li, A. Feigenberg, E. Simon

Secretary for election meeting: Senator Daniel DiSalvo, Department of Political Science

- A. Report of the Election Committee.
 - i. Daniel DiSalvo reported that the Election Committee approved the current list of senators (below), including two senators from Foreign Languages and Literatures. DiSalvo noted that the Committee did not consider the varying length of senators' terms but that all senators were eligible to vote for the Executive Committee.
- B. Provost Trevisan began the election proceedings for a new Executive Committee.
- C. Nominations to the Executive Committee were taken from the Senate floor.
 - Nominees were: Marta Gutman, David Jeruzalmi, Rajan Menon, Charles Watkins, Daniel Greenberger, Eiton Friedman, Nancy Sohler, Ellen Handy, Fred Moshary, Rishi Raj, Bill Crain, David Ratner, Ravi Kalia, Carlos Riobo, Robert Alfano, Renata Miller
 - ii. Jane Gallagher declined to be nominated.
- D. Nominees gave two minute speeches on why senators should vote for them.
 - a. Jeruzalmi: Made the case for slate of senators calling for reform; offered new blood; aimed to build partnerships with administration and promote transparency
 - b. Ratner: Claimed that teaching and learning should be at the center of the college

- c. Gutman: Stated her dedication to service at CCNY and offered a list of service accomplishments.
- d. Greenberger: Stressed his independence; would speak truth to the administration; opposed block voting
- e. Handy: Promised responsiveness to faculty concerns
- f. Moshary: Offered shared vision with other senators to build college community and engage administration
- g. Bruce Cronin, Chair of Political Science, spoke on behalf of Rajan Menon who could not attend meeting. Listed some of Menon's accomplishments.

<u>**Point of Order:</u> Ravi Kalia asked whether a senator (Menon) could be elected in absentia.

<u>Response:</u> Bylaws stipulate that absentia election is permissible if the senator has given written permission to allow themselves to be nominated. Prof. Cronin produced a letter from Prof. Menon.

- h. Miller: Stressed commitment to service; personal connection to CCNY students
- i. Sohler: Would offer voice for faculty, energy, and activity.
- j. Riobo: Promised to learn languages of different constituencies on campus
- k. Watkins: Stressed commitment to diversity and inclusion as well as independence
- I. Friedman: Withdrew from race and endorsed Nancy Sohler
- m. Alfano: Stressed independence; values of excellence and research
- n. Raj: Listed Senate's accomplishments under his chairmanship; stressed diversity and access; review committee now has two faculty members; governance changes
- o. Crain: Stressed access as his top priority over excellence; worried about drop in African-American enrolment; opposed raising admissions standards; called for independent faculty that would stand up to college administration
- p. Kalia: Opposed block voting; claimed that slate was controlled by deans; stressed importance of getting faculty on review committee after his own experiences with tenure process
- E. Provost called for voting to begin.
 - a. Provost Trevisan counted ballots with assistance from Prof. DiSalvo
- F. New Executive Committee elected.
 - a. New Executive Committee: David Jeruzalmi, Marta Gutman, Ellen Handy, Fred Moshary, Nancy Sohler, Charles Watkins, and Renata Miller.

The Faculty Senate The City College of New York

Shepard Hall, Room 150 160 Convent Avenue New York, NY 10031



September 20, 2013

Faculty Senate The City College of New York Shepard Hall Room 150 160 Convent Avenue New York, New York 10031

Dear Members of the Faculty Senate,

I write to officially announce the results of elections that were held on September 19, 2013 for the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate of the City College of New York. The following senators were elected to serve as members of the Executive Committee for the 2013-2014 academic year:

Professor Marta Gutman, Professor Ellen Handy, *Professor David Jeruzalmi, Professor Renata Miller Professor Fred Moshary, Professor Nancy Sohler, Professor Charles Watkins.

*elected Chair of the Executive Committee (September 20, 2013).

On behalf of the newly elected Executive Committee, I would like to express my deepest gratitude for the support and confidence that you have shown us. It was thrilling to see participation of nearly every Senator in the proceedings yesterday; we take this to mean that the issues that we raised clearly resonated with the Senate.

I would like to once again thank Professor Rishi Raj and the outgoing members of the Executive Committee for their past service to the Senate and to the College. I also thank Professor Dan DiSalvo and the members of the Election committee for organizing the election, and for assisting the Provost in overseeing smooth running of the election.

In the coming weeks and months, we will once again call on your support to further the work of the Senate as we move forward with our ambitious agenda. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

David Jeruzalmi

David Jeruzalmi

Attachment I

Status of Membership 2013 – 2014

School/ Division (# of Senators)	Authorized Seats	Vacancies	Continuing Senators
Architecture (2)	2	0	Gutman (2014), Chang (2015)
Arts and Humanities (13)	13	0	Calichman (2014), Dalglish (2014), Estevez (2014), Handy (2014), Hu (2014) Judell (2014), Kalia (2014), Miller (2014), Moore (2014), Pittson (2014), Riobo (2014), Thayer (2014), Wilner(2014)
Worker Education (2)	2	0	Benedicty (2014) Rosenbaum (2014)
Education (6)	6	0	Carter (2015), Fraga(2015), McLurkin (2015), Ratner(2015), Valle (2016), Watson (2014)
Engineering (13)	13	0	Agrawal (2014), Bank (2014), Brass (2014), Fu (2014), Gilerson (2015), Kim (2016), Maldarelli (2014), Moshary (2014), Raj (2014), Tardos (2014), Tarbell(2014), Troeger(2014), Watkins (2015)
Library (2)	2	0	Lascar(2014), Laurich (2015)
Science (10)	10	0	Alfano (2015), Block (2014). Gallagher (2014), Greenberger(2014), Gunner (2014), Hubbard (2014), Jeruzalmi (2014), Lee (2014), Santoro (2014), Tu (2014)
Social Science (8)	8	0	Binz-Scharf (2014), Bengoa-Calvo (2014), Crain (2014), Cronin (2014), DiSalvo (2014), Foster (2014), Menon (2014), Milstein (2014)
SEEK (1)	1	0	Rings(2015)
CUNY Medical School (3)	3	0	Friedman (2014), Juarez (2014), Sohler (2014)
Adjunct (1)	1	0	Saman Reshadi (2015)