

OFFICE OF THE SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND PROVOST

Wille Administration Building, Room 218 160 Convent Avenue New York, NY 10031

TEL: 212.650.6638 FAX: 212.650.6425

Outstanding Teaching Award 2016 Nomination Procedures

The Outstanding Teaching Award is intended to encourage and celebrate individual excellence in teaching.

1. Nominations are made through a Faculty/Student Petition (see next). A petition requires a minimum of 6 signatures of which at least 3 must be full-time City College faculty. **ONE FACULTY MEMBER MUST IDENTIFY HIMSELF/HERSELF AS THE NOMINATOR.**

Please submit petitions to the Provost's Office by 5 p.m. on March 25. They may be sent by email to facultyawards@ccny.cuny.edu or sent to Ms. Julissa Alvarez-Diaz in the Office of the Provost, A-218.

- 2. The **NOMINATOR** will provide the nominee's updated curriculum vitae and supporting documentation by **5 p.m. on April 1** for the nominee. Supporting documentation may include the following items:
 - Peer evaluation and/or peer letters.
 - Standard CCNY student "teacher evaluation" reports.
 - Letters from past and present students including those solicited for this purpose.
 - Evaluations of published and unpublished textbooks and manuals, if applicable.
 - A Chair's or designee's report that includes an overview of the candidate and his/her outstanding teaching qualities, an overview of the kinds of courses taught with a description of the breadth, range and levels.
 - A description of support systems, techniques or special teaching methods, if applicable.
- 3. The Provost's Faculty Awards Committee will deliberate and select one or more winners. Award winners will be announced in May. The award includes a \$2,000 honorarium.

CRITERIA considered by the Award Committee have included:

- a) Outstanding teaching quality as acknowledged by peers, and current and past students.
- b) A significant positive impact on students.
- c) The development of innovative and successful teaching methods or techniques, new course initiations, and/or major course revisions.
- d) Availability to and support for students beyond regular classroom contact including mentoring relationships with students.
- e) The development of quality textbooks, manuals and support materials.
- f) Demonstrated versatility over a wide range of levels and subjects.
- g) Successful teaching beyond City College (including academic, professional, civic and governmental arenas).

Members of the 2016 Provost's Faculty Awards Committee*

Provost Maurizio Trevisan

Dean Gilda Barabino, School of Engineering

Dean Vincent Boudreau, Powell School

Dean Mary Driscoll, School of Education

Dean Tony Liss, Division of Science

Dean Juan Carlos Mercado, Division of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Acting Dean Gordon A. Gebert, Spitzer School of Architecture

Acting Dean Doris Cintrón, Division of Humanities and Arts

Professor Daniel DiSalvo, Department of Political Science (2013)

Professor Barbara Naddeo, Department of History (2013)

Professor Sally Hoskins, Department of Biology (2013)

Professor Ilona Kretzschmar, Department of Chemical Engineering (2013)

Professor Ian Howe, Department of Economics and Business (2013)

Professor Richard Steinberg, Department of Physics and Secondary Education (2014)

Professor Susanna Schaller, Department of Interdisciplinary Arts & Science (2014)

Professor Jay Jorgenson, Department of Mathematics (2015)

Professor Marta Bengoa, Department of Economics & Business (2015)

^{*}The committee comprises the Provost, deans and winners of the awards for the past three years.

NOMINATION FORM FOR 2016 OUTSTANDING TEACHING AWARD

Nominee:		
NAME and DEPARTMENT		
Nominator: NAME (please print name and sign) and DEPARTMENT		
Faculty Nominators		
NAME	SIGNATURE	DEPARTMENT
Student Nominators		
NAME	SIGNATURE	DEPARTMENT

PLEASE COPY AND ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY