

Wille Administration Building, Room 218 160 Convent Avenue New York, NY 10031

TEL: 212.650.6638 FAX: 212.650.6425

OFFICE OF THE SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND PROVOST

Provost's Prize for Pedagogical and Curricular Innovation 2015 Nomination Procedures

The Provost's Prize for Pedagogical and Curricular Innovation has been established to recognize individual faculty or faculty teams who have demonstrated significant positive impact on student learning and retention through pedagogical and curricular innovations.

Projects should demonstrate originality and have potential for widespread replication. Project outcomes and impact must be supported by appropriate assessment data.

Awardees will be asked to share their innovations with the broader College community through a lecture and/or demonstration.

Eligibility: The award is open to all CCNY tenured and tenure-track faculty and lecturers.

Nomination procedures:

1. Nominations are made by a letter from a Dean, Department Chair or Program Director addressed to Provost Trevisan. The nominator should describe the innovation and its impact.

Please submit nominations to the Provost's Office by 5 p.m. on March 13. They may be sent by email to <u>facultyawards@ccny.cuny.edu</u> or sent to Ms. Julissa Alvarez-Diaz in the Office of the Provost, A-218. (*Electronic submissions are preferred*)

2. Nominations must be followed up with a portfolio received by 5 p.m. on April 3 comprising:

 \Box A short (2-4 page) description of the planning and implementation of the innovation and its impact.

 \Box Supporting materials such as examples of teaching/curriculum materials (e.g., portfolio, web links, and video clips); evidence of impact on student learning and attitudes, including letters of support from administrators, faculty and students.

Prize: \$2,000. If the winning project has been submitted by a faculty team, the prize will be shared equally among the team members.

Award winners will be announced in May.

Members of the 2015 Provost's Faculty Awards Committee*

Provost Maurizio Trevisan Dean Gilda Barabino, School of Engineering Dean Vincent Boudreau, Powell School Dean Mary Driscoll, School of Education Dean Tony Liss, Division of Science Dean Juan Carlos Mercado, Division of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences Dean George Ranalli, Spitzer School of Architecture Dean Eric Weitz, Division of Humanities and Arts Professor Luis Cardoso, Department of Biomedical Engineering (2012) Professor Cliff Rosenberg, Department of History (2012) Professor Marom Bikson, Department of Biomedical Engineering (2012) Professor David Gosser, Department of Chemistry (2012) Professor Glen Kowach, Department of Chemistry (2012) Professor Issa Salame, Department of Chemistry (2012) Professor Daniel DiSalvo, Department of Political Science (2013) Professor Barbara Naddeo, Department of History (2013) Professor Sally Hoskins, Department of Biology (2013) Professor Ilona Kretzschmar, Department of Chemical Engineering (2013) Professor Ian Howe, Department of Economics and Business (2013) Professor Richard Steinberg, Department of Physics and Secondary Education (2014) Professor Susanna Schaller, Department of Interdisciplinary Arts & Science (2014)

*The committee comprises the Provost, deans and winners of the awards for the past three years.