Share This
March 7, 2005



undefinedNew York, March 7, 2005 - Dr. Myriam Sarachik, Distinguished Professor of Physics at The City College of New York (CCNY), has been named the 2005 L’ORÉAL-UNESCO for Women in ScienceNorth American Laureate. She was honored at a special ceremony in Paris, France, on March 3.  The award carries a $100,000 dollar cash prize.

The prestigious for Women in Science Award program is sponsored by L’ORÉAL, the global cosmetics company, in partnership with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Initiated in 1998 to elevate the role of women in the scientific community by highlighting and rewarding their contributions, the L’OREAL-UNESCO Awards are presented annually to five established scientists from different regions of the globe. The recipients are selected by an international jury of their peers for their commitment to breakthrough science. The jury also awards 15 fellowships to young women at the doctoral or post-doctoral level. 

“I am completely overwhelmed by this honor,” said Dr. Sarachik, who is one of the world’s foremost experimental condensed matter physicists.

“It is especially meaningful because I am receiving the recognition from my peers. It is gratifying to know that a company like L’Oréal recognizes the value of rewarding women for their contributions to solving crucial scientific problems and encourages women to follow scientific careers,” she added. City College President Dr. Gregory H. Williams hailed the award to Dr. Sarachik.

“This is a fantastic tribute to Professor Sarachik, a woman who embodies the highest ideals of science and teaching,” Dr. Williams said. “For over 40 years, she has been a pillar of The City College of New York, both as an outstanding teacher and cutting edge researcher, and we could not be prouder of this most deserved recognition from UNESCO and L’Oreal.”

A leader in the international physics community, Dr. Sarachik’s career in experimental condensed matter physics has centered on the study of electrical conductivity and magnetic properties of various materials at very low temperatures.  Her work is valued both for its fundamental scientific merit and for its potential application in enhancing the technology that has revolutionized communications, computation and the way we gather and store information, bringing ever closer the realization of quantum computation and faster, smarter computers.  

Dr. Sarachik also is to receive the 2005 Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics later this month.  The Buckley Prize was established by Bell Telephone Laboratories (now Lucent Technologies) in 1952.

Her past honors include the 2004 Sloan Public Service Award from the Fund for the City of New York and the 1995 New York City Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Science and Technology.  She was president of the American Physical Society (APS) in 2003, only the third woman in the Society’s 105-year history to have led the organization.

 Dr. Sarachik is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the APS, a Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

She graduated (B.A. cum laude) from Barnard College in 1954 and received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Columbia University (1957 and 1960).  She joined CCNY as an Assistant Professor of Physics in 1964 after stints as a research associate at IBM Watson Laboratories at Columbia University (1961-1962) and at Bell Laboratories (1962-1964).