Share This

CCNY Division of Science Presents Nobel Prize Panels

Faculty Experts to Talk on This Year’s Winners and Why They Won

Do you want to know more about the winners of the 2010 Nobel Prizes as well as top awards given in architecture, geosciences and mathematics?  Then attend “Who Won the Nobel Prize* this Year and Why,” two panel discussions featuring short presentations by City College faculty experts, 4:45 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Monday, November 15, and Tuesday, November 16, in Room 95, Shepard Hall, The City College of New York.  The event, which is free and open to the public, is presented by CCNY’s Division of Science.

“The Nobel Prizes, the Pritzker Architecture Prize, the Crafoord Prize and the Fields Medal in mathematics are the world’s most prestigious honors in their respective fields,” said Dr. Ruth Stark, interim dean of the Division of Science.  “These presentations will offer students and other members of the City College community a chance to learn from people with expertise in the winners’ fields why they were chosen, the significance of their work and the importance of these prizes.”

A list of each evening’s speakers and the prizes they will discuss follows:

Monday, November 15

Dr. Edward Gresik, medical professor of cell biology and anatomy, Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education, Nobel Prize in Medicine.

Gordon Gebert, professor of architecture, Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Dr. Mark Briscoe, assistant professor of chemistry, Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Dr. Christian Wolf, professor of mathematics, Fields Medal.

Tuesday, November 16

Dr. Lia Krusin-Elbaum, professor of physics, Nobel Prize in Physics.

Dr. Araceli Tinajero, associate professor of Spanish, Nobel Prize in Literature.

Dr. Johnny Luo, assistant professor of earth and atmospheric science, Crafoord Prize in Geosciences.

Dr. Arthur Fishman, professor of economics, Nobel Prize in Economics.

For more information, email

* & Pritzker Architecture Prize, Crafoord Prize in Geosciences and Fields Medal in Mathematics



Ellis Simon
p: 212.650.6460