Fact Sheet


  • The City College of New York


  • Main Campus: 160 Convent Avenue, New York, NY 10031
  • Division of Interdisciplinary Studies at the Center for Worker Education: 25 Broadway, New York, NY 10004


  • Main Number: (212) 650-7000
  • Office of Institutional Advancement and Communications: (212) 650-6557


  • 37 contiguous acres stretching along Convent Avenue between W. 130th Street and W. 141st Street.
  • The century-old neo-gothic buildings designed by George B. Post, which surround the North Campus Quad, are listed on the United States and New York Registers of Historic Places
  • More than $1 billion in investments made to our scientific discovery area on the South Campus, all through public-private partnership collaborations. 


  • President:  Dr. Vincent Boudreau
  • Provost: Dr. Tony Liss



  • City College is home to 21 research institutes in the sciences, engineering and social sciences.  They are engaged in ongoing investigations in such areas as nanoscience, photonics, alternative energy, water resources, transportation and public policy.  For 2018 – 2019, funded research at the College totaled more than $62 million.


  • Morris Raphael Cohen (Main) Library plus six specialized or branch libraries: Architecture Library, Art Visual Library, Center for Worker Education Library, Dominican Studies Library, Music Library and Science and Engineering Library.  The collection includes 1.44 million books, 50,000 periodicals, 1,000,000 digital images and 240 databases.


  • 1847 - Founded as the Free Academy by Townsend Harris.  Original building located at 23rd Street and Lexington Avenue in Manhattan.
  • 1907 - Uptown campus, consisting of five buildings along Convent Avenue designed by George P. Post, opens.
  • 1919 - City College School of Technology and City College School of Business and Civic Administration established.
  • 1921 - School of Education established.
  • 1930 –Women admitted to graduate and business programs.
  • 1950 – Men's basketball team wins NCAA and NIT tournaments.
  • 1951 – City College becomes entirely coeducational.
  • 1953 - CCNY acquires campus of Manhattanville College and expands south to 130th Street.
  • 1958 – City College School of Business and Civic Administration becomes Baruch School of Business and Civic Administration.
  • 1961 – The City University of New York established as umbrella institution for public colleges in New York City.
  • 1962 – School of Technology becomes School of Engineering and moves into new home in Steinman Hall.
  • 1968 – School of Architecture established.  Baruch School of Business and Civic Administration becomes Baruch College of City University of New York.
  • 1971 - Marshak Science Building, named for Robert Marshak, a renowned physicist and President of City College, opens.
  • 1973 - The Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education is established to meet growing demand for primary care physicians.
  • 1984 - North Academic Center, housing classrooms, offices, cafeterias and library, opens as largest academic building in CUNY system.
  • 2005 - School of Engineering becomes the Grove School of Engineering, named for Dr. Andrew S. Grove, '58, a CCNY alumnus and co-founder of Intel Corp.
  • 2006 - The Towers at The City College of New York, the first residence hall built on a CUNY campus, opens.
  • 2009 - School of Architecture becomes Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture, named for Bernard Spitzer, '43, a New York City real estate developer, and moves into a new home on the south campus.
  • 2013 - Division of Social Science becomes Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leader Leadership, named for Gen. Colin Powell, USA (ret.), '58, the first African American to serve as chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and U.S. secretary of state.
  • 2016 - Founding of the CUNY School of Medicine
  • 2019 - 100th Anniversary of the Grove School of Engineering

Last Updated: 09/20/2023 12:24