Physics Colloquium: Stuart Samuel, The Resolution of the Measurement Problem in Unitary Quantum Field Theory

Physics Colloquium

Wednesday, August 25, 2021 from 04:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Where                       By Zoom.  For details, please contact Prof. Ganeshan.
Contact Name          Sriram Ganeshan
Contact Phone         212-650-6085

The Resolution of the Measurement Problem in Unitary Quantum Field Theory

Stuart Samuel

Professor Emeritus
Physics Department

City College of New York



Almost two years ago in this colloquium, I provided arguments based on several gedanken experiments showing that wavefunction collapse cannot happen in pure quantum mechanics (no second quantized processes). Without wavefunction collapse, there is no “spooky action” at a distance and the Einstein-Poldolsky-Rosen paradox does not arise. In this colloquium, I shall review briefly those results, which have interesting implications for how measurement in quantum mechanics works. Then, I shall discuss the situation in quantum field theory (with particle creation and destruction events). In unitary quantum field theory (without wavefunction collapse), one finds that the Measurement Problem in quantum mechanics is resolved when one takes into account all degrees of freedom including those of the experimental equipment and the experimentalists.





Stuart Samuel is a theoretical physicist known for his work on the speed of gravity and for his work with Alan Kostelecký on spontaneous Lorentz violation in string theory, now called the Bumblebee model. He also made significant contributions in field theory and particle physics.


He was formerly a member of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, a professor of physics at Columbia University, a professor of physics at City College of New York and a participating scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Samuel has received a number of awards for his research including a Control Data Corporation PACER Award (with Dr. K. M. Moriarty) for outstanding computer programming, an Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, and the Chester–Davis Prize (from Indiana University). He was one of 90 scientists in 1984 to be honored as an Alfred P. Sloan Research Recipient.


Last Updated: 08/20/2021 15:47