Shepard Hall with a slow fade to black

Faculty

Prof. Angela-Ajani, Asale

Asale Angel-Ajani looking off to the right. they are out side

Phone: 212-650-8117

Email: aangelajani@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: 7/113B

Expertise & Reasearch: 

  • Immigration and Refugees in Europe, Africa, and Asia
  • Global Trends in the Incarceration and Imprisonment of Women and Girls
  • Human Rights in Africa, Latin America, and Asia
  • Drug Trafficking and Women
  • Immigration Detention

Prof. Berstein, Richard

R.B. Bernstein is looking into the camera- they are at a dinner event

Phone: 212-650-7385

Email: rbernstein@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/138A

Courses Taught:

  • PSC 20800 American Political Thought
  • PSC 22000 The Judiciary
  • PSC 22100 The Presidency
  • PSC 31140 African-American Political Thought
  • PSC 31720 Early American Political Development

Prof. Boyd, Herb

Prof. Boyd, Herb is looking into the camera- they are in the library

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: Herbboyd47@gmail.com

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Cassells, E. Diana

Icon due to not having a photo

Phone; 212-650-7914

Email: ecasells@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Castro-McGowan, Regina

Regina Castro-McGowan looking into the camera- they are at a party, with balloons behind them

Phone: 212-650-5261

Email: rcastro-mcgowan@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 6/336A

Teaching and research interests:

  • Latin American literature and film and Luso-Brazilian studies.
  • Her research focuses on the literary historiography of the Portuguese Renaissance and the literature of colonial and imperial Brazil.

Prof. Felber-Seligman, Yaari

They are  looking in to the camera- they are standing outside in front of a lake

Phone: 212-650-7469

Email: yfelberseligman@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 5/127C

Professor Felber-Seligman (pronouns: they/them/theirs) specializes in the history of pre-1700s eastern Africa and comparative world history. They teach courses relating to African history of all eras and periodically also teach courses in early World History. Felber-Seligman is particularly interested in the use of non-documentary sources, comparative trade history, African encounters with others, Africa’s contributions to world history, gender studies, and LGBTQ+ history.

Prof. Fernandez, Maria

Prof. Fernadez, Maria    looking into the camera, with a light blue back ground

Phone: 212-650-7914 

Email: mfernadez@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Gibbons, William

icon due to not having a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: wgibbons@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 2/204

Prof. Gillespie, Michael (on leave)

Michael B. Gillespie is looking in to the camera- they are out side

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: mgillespie1@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: Shepard 467

His teaching and research focuses on black visual and expressive culture, visual historiography, film theory, film adaptation, and genre theory.

Prof. Jean-Charles, Marsha

Icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: mjeancharles@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Peters, Shani

icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: speters@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Reilly, Matthew

Prof. Reilly, Matthew is looking into the camera- they are outside of Shepard hall

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: mreilly@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

Areas of Expertise and Research:

  • Slavery
  • Irish Diaspora
  • Archaeology
  • Atlantic World History
  • Race and Whiteness
  • Caribbean
  • Class and Labor
  • Colonialism
  • Gender

Prof. Rufo, John

Icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: jrufo@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: Nac 4/145

 

Prof. Samad-Matias, Asha

Icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-6607

Email: asamad@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 7/112

 

Prof. Sawadogo, Boukary

Dr. Boukary Sawadogo looking into the camera with a black background

Phone: 212-650-7167

Email: bsawadogo@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: SH 476

His research and teaching interests are focused on African cinema, documentary and Black world experience.

Prof. Seras, Milagros

Icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email:mseaus@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

 

Prof. Thompson, Gordon

Gordon Thompson looking into the camera

Phone: 212-650-6365

Email: gthompson@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 6/216D or 4/149

 

Prof. Thompson, Keith

Keith Thompson is looking into the camera- they are in a blue room

Phone: 212-650-5853

Email: kthompson@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 6/128 or 4/145

Research interests: 

  • Criminology
  • Deviance
  • Racial and Ethnic Minority Groups
  • Family Relationships

Prof. Thompson, Michelle

icon in place of a photo

Phone: 212-650-7914

Email: mthompson@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 4/145

Prof. Villarosa, Linda (on leave)

Linda Villarosa looking into the camera - standing in front of a brick wall

Phone: 212-650-5499

Email: lvillarosa@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: SH 463

Courses taught:

  • Introduction to Journalism
  • Reporting and Writing

Prof. Woodard, Laurie

Laurie Woodard looking into the camera- they are in front of the main building

Phone: 212-650-3918

Email: lwoodard@ccny.cuny.edu

Office: NAC 5/129B

Research interests:

African American Cultural, Intellectual, Social, and Political History, U.S. Social, Cultural, and Political History, Early Modern Atlantic World History and Culture, Post-Emancipation African American Cultural History, Post-Emancipation African American Women’s History