Rifkind Faculty Teaching Awards

The Rifkind Center for the Humanities and the Arts announces a new Rifkind Divisional Teaching Award, commencing in Spring 2018. The award is open to all full time faculty members in the Division of Humanities & the Arts. The primary purpose of the award is to reward excellence in and commitment to teaching, with a secondary goal of supporting faculty research or creative activity. Two awards in the amount of $2,000 will be given, to be used for expenses such as travel, equipment, and subvention of costs for publication, production or creation during the Spring semester.

Applicants must submit the following materials by November 1, 2017:

  1. CV (in CCNY format)

  2. Teaching Statement (in which you list courses you have taught and share your teaching philosophy and methods; no more than 2 pages)

  3. Two course syllabi and related teaching materials such as exams, in-class assignments, websites, Blackboard materials, etc. (no more than 20 pages)

  4. A letter of support from one faculty member who has recently observed your class

Decisions will be announced by Dec 1, 2017. The decision making body consists of the Rifkind Center Advisory Committee. The award is made possible by the generosity of the Rifkind family and the Winston Foundation, which for many years have supported the Simon H. Rifkind Center for the Humanities. The Rifkind Teaching Award will be awarded on an annual basis.

Questions may be addressed to Andreas Killen (History) at akillen@ccny.cuny.edu

Please load all materials as one PDF file here.


Rifkind Divisional Teaching Award


Professor Lale Can, Department of  History

Professor Marit Dewhurst, Department of  Art

Professor Jennifer Morton, Department of  Philosophy


Professor Abby Kornfeld, Department of  Art & Jewish Studies Program

Distinguished Lecturer Annie Howell, Department of  Media & Communication Arts

Professor Seiji Shirane, Department of  History



Last Updated: 07/30/2019 14:42